New Law Banning Indoor Tanning for Minors Now In Effect
On Monday July 1, 2013 Nevada joined Vermont, California and Oregon in prohibiting minors under the age of 18 from indoor tanning. In addition, the new law includes safety measures and education for adults who tan indoors.
“The American Academy of Dermatology Association commends Nevada for being a leader in the fight against melanoma, the deadliest form of skin cancer, and non-melanoma skin cancers,” said board-certified dermatologist Dirk M. Elston, MD, FAAD, president of the American Academy of Dermatology Association (AADA). “The science is clear. The risk for developing melanoma increases by 75 percent in individuals who have been exposed to UV radiation from indoor tanning devices, and the risks increase with each subsequent use. Since 2.3 million teens tan indoors in the United States annually, restricting teens’ access to indoor tanning is critical to preventing skin cancer.”
It is estimated that one in five Americans will develop some form of skin cancer in their lifetime. On average, every hour in America a person dies from melanoma, the deadliest form of skin cancer. In a state with nearly year-round sunshine, the stakes can be much higher as it is estimated that 440 new cases of melanoma will be diagnosed in Nevada in 2013. The major risk factor to developing melanoma is exposure to ultraviolet light – both from indoor tanning and sun exposure.
Previously, Nevada had no laws in place regulating tanning establishments or restricting access to indoor tanning. Beginning July 1, 2013 a person under the age of 18 is prohibited from using indoor tanning equipment at a tanning establishment. Further, tanning establishments must post warning signs regarding the health risks associated with tanning, ensure that employees are qualified to operate the tanning equipment, properly sanitize tanning equipment and ensure it is working properly, provide customers with protective eye wear, and have all customers sign an acknowledgement that he or she understands the warnings and risks - and agrees to use protective eye wear and follow instructions for equipment use. Salons reported for failure to adhere to the new law face civil fines from $250 - $1,500 per incident.